2022 a Joint Silver Jubilee Celebration

Cherita 22 June 1997 – 22 June 2022
Gembun 12 June 1997 – 12 June 2022

Two storytelling short form genres created by ai li


of all places
edition #6:4 of the cherita
edited by ai li


Cherita was 25 years old on 22 June 2022 and this is its silver jubilee year.

The cherita genre was created by ai li on the 22 June 1997. It consists of three stanzas of 1 – 2 – 3 lines and it tells a story.




This edition of of all places showcases 95 fine cherita and cherita terbalik from writers and poets who hail from UK, USA, Singapore, The Philippines, Canada, India, New Zealand, Romania, Germany, Japan, Pakistan and Africa.

of all places is our fourth book for our Silver Jubilee Year of 2022, on our sixth year of being. This is also our 66th edition in the cherita series of storytelling books.


of all places belongs to the ongoing the cherita series, currently 65th on the list, as do my personal ongoing writing in one breath series of 26 virgin Cherita, Cherita and Tanka, Cherita and Haiku, and Cherita, Tanka and Haiku books, and lastly my poems for inner rooms series with its 18 Tanka and Haiku books. All these editions are available in paperback and kindle on Amazon.

Two of my own books of virgin Gembun have now been added to my writing in one breath series, swelling the numbers to 28.

I have edited this edition as I have all the other editions of the cherita, to be experienced two ways. It can be read as one storybook but also as an anthology of individual poems. Two reading experiences within one book, filled with stories of Life, Love, Loss and Renewal.

cherita terbalik continues to capture the imagination of poets and there are again fine examples in this edition.

Featured Poets as they appear in this edition :-

Robert Horrobin/ Jackie Chou/ Kath Abela Wilson/ Rick Wilson/ Madeleine Basa Vinluan/ Keith Evetts/ James Haddad/ Stella Damarjati/ Anne Scott/ Joanna Ashwell/ Richa Sharma/ Connie Pittman Ramsey/ Ruth Kay/ Larry Kimmel/ ai li/ Partha Sarkar/ Sherry Grant/ Cynthia Anderson/ Kelly Sauvage/ D’ellen/ Sigrid Saradunn/ Bryan Rickert/ Taura Scott/ Alan Peat/ Réka Nyitrai/ Isabella Kramer/ Kim McNealy Sosin/ kris moon kondo/ Ken Slaughter/ Maxianne Berger/ John Hawkhead/ Hifsa Ashraf/ Clara Sohn Rehor/ paula song sarmonpal/ David Cox/ Jim Niffen/ Patricia Prime/ Lakshmi Iyer/ Joanne Kennedy Frazer/ Erika Wilk/ Eva Joan/ R. Suresh Babu/ Rachel Chitofu/ Caroline Skanne

A SAMPLE from this edition :-

if you see me

shush don’t tell
my secret

I’ll tuck it deep
inside the well
for tomorrow’s dream

Joanna Ashwell

The cherita lighthouse has been awarded to the following writers and poets in this edition for their timeless Cherita :

Keith Evetts/ Kath Abela Wilson/ Sherry Grant/ Joanna Ashwell/ Bryan Rickert/ Alan Peat/ Réka Nyitrai/ Sigrid Saradunn/ Ken Slaughter/ Isabella Kramer/ Jim Niffen/ Robert Horrobin/ Eva Joan/ paula song sarmonpal/ Caroline Skanne/ Hifsa Ashraf/ John Hawkhead/

of all places has been edited to be experienced two ways. It can be read as a storybook and as an anthology of individual poems.


I have enjoyed the challenge of selecting and collating for this edition of the cherita and hope that you will find the cherita within worthy of a campfire gathering and the sharing of meaningful stories.

If this new edition strikes a chord with you, please feel free to review, comment on Amazon or give a feedback directly to me. Many thanks.

ai li


Currently you receive ongoing news and updates from the 1-2-3 press [on and about the cherita and cherita]. If you feel that you no longer wish to receive these updates, please unsubscribe. Thank you.