Please click on the following links below to learn more about the cherita from ai li and Larry Kimmel, and to discover their other poetic works.


at lunuganga, sri lanka


ai li
editor of the cherita
creator of cherita
publisher of the cherita


you sit

your dead

and make
all our nights


ai li


ai li is the founding editor and publisher of still, moving into breath and dew-on-line. She is also a Fellow of The Royal Photographic Society of Great Britain [FRPS], and an evidential spiritualist medium who trained at The Spiritualist Association of Great Britain [Est. 1872] and The College of Psychic Studies, London [Est. 1883].

ai li’s poems have been widely published in the UK, USA, and Japan.

She has also created 18 original linked forms akin to Renku aka Renga, one of which, the cherita, in particular has been widely embraced and has grown in popularity since ai li created this short form in 1997. The cherita brings out the storyteller which lives in all of us.

She lives quietly and mindfully in London and writes in a Rousseau inspired dream yard watched over by three old stone buddhas.

ai li has also recently selected 25 fine cherita from 25 poets for a special feature on Atlas Poetica’s website :

Find her in the quiet of her website www.aili.co.uk

You will also find a collection of 25 books of ai li’s poems in the following links :

ai li’s books on amazon.co.uk

ai li’s books on amazon.com



Larry Kimmel
godfather of the cherita 
former co-editor of the cherita


my life
at the violet edge of day

no second draft

fears of
the dark walk
with me


Larry Kimmel


Larry Kimmel grew up in the rural area near Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA. He holds degrees form Oberlin Conservatory and Pittsburgh University, and has worked at everything from steel mills to libraries. He has been publishing poetry for 40 years, and now lives quietly with his wife in the hills of western Massachusetts. USA.

You can find his most recent books, “outer edges” (tanka)” and “shards and dust” (cherita) on his Winfred Press website, as well as on Amazon.com. Announcements and updates to his website can be viewed on the Winfred Press blog page.

“The Piercing Blue of Sirius: Selected Poems 1968 – 2008″ is free to read online.

You can learn more about cherita on his Winfred Press website.



copyright © the cherita 2019